Malta’s Capital Valletta to be European Capital of Culture in 2018

Valletta, Malta's capital, is to be the European Capital of Culture in 2018, the European Commission has announced. Valletta is a UNESCO world heritage site. Not only is it one of the smallest capital cities in the world but with its 320 monuments, all within an area of 55 ha, Valletta is one of the most concentrated historic areas and popular heritage site in the world.

Want to read UNESCO Daily News Updates? Click

The capital of Malta

World Heritage Valletta MaltaThe capital of Malta is 'one of the rare urban inhabited sites that has preserved in near entirety its original features', according to UNESCO. Boasting a varied history, Valletta was ruled successively by the Phoenicians, Greeks, Carthaginians, Romans, Byzantines, Arabs and the Order of the Knights of St John.t

Androulla Vassiliou, the European Commissioner responsible for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, stated: "I congratulate Valletta on its successful bid. I am happy to see the enthusiasm generated in Malta for the European Capital of Culture title. I am confident that Valletta will develop an exciting programme of events with a strong European dimension and that the title can bring significant long-term cultural, economic and social benefits for the city and its surrounding area. I wish every success to Valletta."

Following Guimarães (Portugal) and Maribor (Slovenia) this year, Marseille (France) and Košice (Slovakia) will be European Capitals of Culture in 2013; Umeå (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia) in 2014, Mons (Belgium) and Plzen (Czech Republic) in 2015, Wroclaw (Poland) and Donastia-San Sebastián (Spain) in 2016. Aarhus (Denmark) and Paphos (Cyprus) have been proposed by the expert panel as European Capitals of Culture in 2017.

320 Monuments City Valletta Malta
320 Monuments City Valletta

The Netherlands and Malta are the two Member States hosting a European Capital of Culture in 2018.

Browse All UNESCO World Heritage Sites in .

No comments:

Post a Comment